First Week of 100 Days of Code

techtalk-69-how-to-setup-and-run-laravel-apps-inside-vagrant-18-638

I did it. Well, I started it. Ok, it’s only been a week, but I’ve put a lot of thought and effort into web programming and making code.

Nine days ago I started the 100 Days of Code challenge to focus on making rather than learning. Yes, the two go together, but often I’d get into learning paralysis and not code because I was having so much fun and gaining a lot of confidence just learning.

Despite all that fun, I got tired of it. It wasn’t challenging me. I wanted to DO something with all thr knowledge I was attempting to absorb. And then I saw it on Twitter. My chance to put this code to work and see what I could actually make.

As an accountability tool I downloaded the Toggl app to show I was coding every day and how much time I was putting in. I’d say my first week in the challenge was a success since I know I never put this much time in before:

screenshot_2016-12-25-15-14-52.png

As you can see, i’m putting a lot of time into Free Code Camp and creations on Codepen. Next I forked the 100 Days of Code repo. This encourages me to keep a daily log to see what steps I’ve taken to be a better coder. Additionally, I use Twitter to share my progress and find encouragement from others who have challenged themselves.

So far, I’ve solved some basic algorithm scripts and created a random quote machine through FCC It’s just the push I needed and I’m excited to see how much JavaScript I’ve learned by day 100! Stay tuned for my 2016 review of  coding progress.

One thought on “First Week of 100 Days of Code

Leave a Reply

